Travels

Dirty, gray ... warm, intense, Latin ... Live Maputo!

Pin
Send
Share
Send


The central train station of Maputo. Nice outside but nothing spectacular inside

Most people who visit Mozambique -which is not much- spend the minimum possible time in your capital, Maputo. To take the opposite, I stayed for a weekend and felt like more.

The capital of Mozambique has the bad reputation of being a dirty, dangerous and uninteresting city. There is some truth in all this but, if you know where to look and depending on what you like to find on your trips, it also has many interesting things to offer.

Normally, someone who decides to travel through a country like Mozambique is not looking for order, cleanliness, architectural beauty and manicured buildings. If you come to Mozambique -and almost all of Africa in general- you must be someone who is looking for adventure, a different culture and, like every good traveler, you are open to adapt to what you are going to find.

I arrived in Maputo from Nelspruit, one of the entrances to the famous South African Kruger Park. I remember that the suburbs of the city seemed huge to me. Endless rows of people went from here to there on a Friday afternoon when they returned home after work. We made a stop at a market outside and the chaos was inordinate.

However, in the center the thing was very different.

The Maputo Handicraft Market

The structures of shacks here and there give way to buildings of various heights that house the most important companies in the city and expatriates. Here we will find European-style supermarkets (with European prices too), medium-high price restaurants and bar areas where to have fun. The majority of foreigners living in Maputo are European -where the Portuguese are the majority- and make life in this area.

That same night I went out to dinner with foreign people who were staying in my hostel and I could panic as soon as we finished dinner. Adducing fatigue, everyone decided not to risk knowing the nightlife of, what they say, is one of the best cities to party in all of South Africa. I made a good team with Ronald -The Zimbabwean kid with whom he had traveled from Nelspruit- and we decided to investigate the bars of Maputo.

It was an unparalleled success. The Mozambicans are like Brazilians in Africa: There is, in the whole continent, no one to beat them when it comes to enjoying a good party. They are hot, friendly and quick to make friends. And they dance like goddesses and gods.

We started having a couple of beers in the restaurant where we had dinner. Is called Mimo's, a pizzeria of rather high prices in the 24 de Julio Avenue. Without knowing where to go, Ronald and I began to follow July 24, one of the main arteries of the city.

With my Zimbabwean friend Ronald and his friend Jeff and Leila and their German party friend

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Voyage

Sale, gris ... chaud, intense, latin ... Vivez Maputo!

La gare centrale de Maputo. Nice dehors mais rien de spectaculaire à l'intérieur

La plupart des gens qui visitent Mozambique -qui n’est pas beaucoup- passez le moins de temps possible dans votre capitale, Maputo. Pour prendre le contraire, je suis resté un week-end et je me suis senti plus.

La capitale du Mozambique a la mauvaise réputation d’être une ville sale, dangereuse et sans intérêt. Il y a du vrai dans tout cela, mais si vous savez où chercher et en fonction de ce que vous aimez trouver lors de vos voyages, il y a aussi beaucoup de choses intéressantes à offrir.

Normalement, une personne qui décide de voyager dans un pays comme le Mozambique ne recherche pas l'ordre, la propreté, la beauté architecturale et la netteté des bâtiments. Si vous venez à Mozambique -et presque toute l'Afrique en général- vous devez être quelqu'un qui recherche l'aventure, une culture différente et, comme tout bon voyageur, vous êtes prêt à vous adapter à ce que vous allez trouver.

Je suis arrivé à Maputo en provenance de Nelspruit, l'une des entrées du célèbre parc sud-africain Kruger. Je me souviens que les banlieues de la ville me semblaient énormes. D'innombrables files de personnes se sont rendues d'ici vendredi le vendredi après-midi, après être rentrées chez elles après le travail. Nous nous sommes arrêtés sur un marché à l'extérieur et le chaos était démesuré.

Cependant, au centre la chose était très différente.

Le marché artisanal de Maputo

Les structures de cabanes ici et là cèdent la place à des bâtiments de différentes hauteurs abritant les entreprises les plus importantes de la ville et les expatriés. Nous y trouverons des supermarchés de style européen (avec des prix européens également), des restaurants à prix moyens-élevés et des bars où s’amuser. La majorité des étrangers vivant à Maputo sont européens -Où les Portugais sont majoritaires- et font la vie dans ce domaine.

Le soir même, je suis sorti dîner avec des étrangers qui séjournaient dans mon auberge de jeunesse et j'ai paniqué dès que nous avons fini de dîner. Soulageant la fatigue, tout le monde a décidé de ne pas risquer de connaître la vie nocturne de ce qu’ils disent, c’est l'une des meilleures villes pour faire la fête dans toute l'Afrique du Sud. J'ai fait une bonne équipe avec Ronald -Le gamin zimbabwéen avec qui il avait voyagé de Nelspruit- et nous avons décidé d'enquêter sur les bars de Maputo.

Ce fut un succès sans précédent. Les Les Mozambicains sont comme les Brésiliens en Afrique: Il n'y a personne sur tout le continent pour les battre lorsqu'il s'agit de profiter d'une bonne fête. Ils sont chauds, amicaux et rapides pour se faire des amis. Et ils dansent comme des déesses et des dieux.

Nous avons commencé à prendre quelques bières au restaurant où nous avons dîné. Il s'appelle Mimo, une pizzeria aux prix assez élevés dans le Avenue 24 de Julio. Sans savoir où aller, Ronald et moi avons commencé à suivre le 24 juillet, l'une des principales artères de la ville.

Avec mon ami zimbabwéen Ronald et ses amis Jeff et Leila et leur ami du parti allemand

Vidéo: CIA Covert Action in the Cold War: Iran, Jamaica, Chile, Cuba, Afghanistan, Libya, Latin America (Décembre 2019).