Travels

Pay to choose where to sit on a plane

Pin
Send
Share
Send


On Friday I read in the Internet edition of El Mundo a headline that seemed more typical of the Irish Ryanair, always looking for new ways to get extra income, than from a traditional company: since October 7, British Airways will charge 55 euros for booking seats near the emergency exit.


It is important to note that these rates apply if one wants to choose a seat at the time of buying the ticket, but that it's a free service if one looks for their preferred seat at the time of check-in, either online, at a self-check-in machine or with an employee at an airport counter.

Although it may be a novelty for the British airline, those of us who have traveled with Aer Lingus know that this has been happening with the green clover line since May 23, 2007.

Thus, on short-haul flights (and depending on the Airbus model in which we travel), choosing a row from 1 to 5, a seat next to an exit or opting for any of the remaining rows means paying a minimum of 3 euros until 80 of a Premium armchair (which is still a Premier class seat that has not been removed from an apparatus in which the tourist class has been unified: more comfort, equal service). Anyway, if our rate is Flexifare / Flexible, the seat reservation is free.

For long-haul (Transatlantic) flights the service is free, except on the Orlando route, where you can only book the aforementioned “Premium” by between 275 and 325 euros.

With these prices, I am not surprised by the races that take place on EasyJet and Ryanair flights after those with Priority Boarding have embarked to get a place with the best views, the lowest noise, the largest space between seats or, simply, no partners for that to lie comfortably.

The full British Airways release (in English) and the full list of Aer Lingus fees

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Voyage

Payer pour choisir où s'asseoir dans un avion

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Vendredi, dans l'édition Internet d'El Mundo, j'ai lu un titre qui paraissait plus typique de la Ryanair irlandaise, toujours à la recherche de nouveaux moyens de générer des revenus supplémentaires, qu'une entreprise traditionnelle: depuis le 7 octobre British Airways facturera 55 euros pour les places réservées près de la sortie d'urgence.


Il est important de noter que ces taux s’appliquent si l’on veut choisir une place au moment de l’achat du billet, mais que c'est un service gratuit si l’on cherche son siège préféré au moment de l’enregistrement, soit en ligne, à l’auto-enregistrement ou avec un employé au guichet de l’aéroport.

Bien que cela puisse être une nouveauté pour la compagnie aérienne britannique, ceux d'entre nous qui ont voyagé avec Aer Lingus savent que cela se produit avec la ligne de trèfle vert depuis le 23 mai 2007.

Ainsi, sur les vols court-courriers (et selon le modèle Airbus dans lequel nous voyageons), choisir une rangée de 1 à 5, une place à côté d'une sortie ou opter pour l'une des rangées restantes signifie payer minimum de 3 euros jusqu'à 80 d'un fauteuil Premium (qui reste un siège de première classe qui n’a pas été retiré d’un appareil dans lequel la classe touristique a été unifiée: plus de confort, un service égal). Quoi qu'il en soit, si notre tarif est Flexifare / Flexible, la réservation de siège est gratuite.

Pour les vols long-courriers (transatlantiques), le service est gratuit, sauf sur la liaison Orlando-Orlando, où vous ne pouvez réserver le «Premium» susmentionné que par: entre 275 et 325 euros.

Avec ces prix, je ne suis pas surpris par les courses qui se déroulent sur les vols EasyJet et Ryanair après que ceux avec Priority Boarding se sont embarqués pour obtenir une place avec les meilleures vues, le bruit le plus bas, le plus grand espace entre les sièges ou, tout simplement, pas de partenaires pour ça mentir confortablement.

La version complète de British Airways (en anglais) et la liste complète des frais d’Aer Lingus

Pin
Send
Share
Send