Travels

Canada apologizes to the Indians

The other day the Prime Minister of Canada, Stephen Harper, apologized to the original inhabitants of the country before the Parliament in Ottawa for decades of abuse. The politician said that it had been a mistake to take the children of these inhabitants from their families and communities to take away their culture and traditions in special internships.

The forced accommodation of children in institutes also enabled abuse. Harper referred to a "Sad chapter" in the history of the country and apologized to the victims. “Today we see that the assimilation policy was wrong, that it generated great suffering and that it has no place in our country”, Harper said in the presence of representatives of the original inhabitants.

He added that the effects had been absolutely negative and had caused lasting damage to the culture, heritage and language of the original inhabitants. “In the name of the Canadian government and of all Canadians, I find myself in front of you to apologize for the role of the Canadian state in the internship system for Indians”said Harper. He indicated that today you could verify that the forced separation of parents impaired the ability of many of these children to later assume the role of parents. This caused damage to the following generations.

Between 1870 and 1970, children of the original inhabitants of Canada were necessarily assimilated into homes managed in general by the Church. Many were mistreated or sexually abused. Of the around 150.00 children who went through these state-sponsored schools, they still live around 8. In 2006 the government in Ottawa had already paid compensation to victims of these physical, psychic and sexual abuse.

In February, the Australian government apologized for similar abuses against Aboriginal children. Unlike Canada, Australia refuses to pay compensation.

No comment.

Voyage

Le Canada s'excuse auprès des Indiens

L’autre jour, le Premier ministre du Canada, Stephen Harper, s’est excusé auprès des premiers habitants du pays devant le Parlement à Ottawa pour avoir des décennies d'abus. L’homme politique a déclaré que c’était une erreur d’emmener les enfants de ces habitants de leurs familles et de leurs communautés pour qu’ils retirent leur culture et leurs traditions lors de stages spéciaux.

L'hébergement forcé d'enfants dans des instituts a également permis des abus. Harper a parlé d'un "Chapitre triste" dans l'histoire du pays et présenté ses excuses aux victimes. «Aujourd'hui, nous voyons que la politique d'assimilation était fausse, qu'elle a généré de grandes souffrances et qu'elle n'a pas sa place dans notre pays», A déclaré Harper en présence de représentants des premiers habitants.

Il a ajouté que les effets avaient été absolument négatifs et avaient causé des dommages durables à la culture, au patrimoine et à la langue des habitants d'origine. «Au nom du gouvernement canadien et de tous les Canadiens, je me trouve devant vous pour présenter mes excuses pour le rôle de l'État canadien dans le système de stages pour les Indiens»dit Harper. Il a indiqué qu’aujourd’hui, nous pourrions vérifier que le séparation forcée des parents a empêché beaucoup de ces enfants d’assumer plus tard le rôle de parents. Cela a causé des dommages aux générations suivantes.

Entre 1870 et 1970, les enfants des premiers habitants du Canada ont nécessairement été assimilés à des foyers gérés en général par l'Église. Beaucoup ont été maltraités ou abusés sexuellement. Environ 150 enfants qui ont fréquenté ces écoles parrainées par l’État vivent toujours autour de 8 ans. En 2006, le gouvernement d’Ottawa avait déjà payé indemnisation des victimes de ces abus physiques, psychiques et sexuels.

En février, le gouvernement australien a présenté ses excuses pour des abus similaires à l'encontre d'enfants autochtones. Contrairement au Canada, l’Australie refuse de verser une indemnité.

Sans commentaires.