Travels

Cycle tourism in Segovia: Royal Palace of La Granja and the Aqueduct at the stroke of a pedal

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Segovian grasslands

After a first day of bicycle touring in which my legs suffered greatly while dragging the bike through beautiful fields and canyons segovianas, I faced an important decision in those early hours of Sunday morning.

Again today, the friends of BikefriendlyThey offered us the possibility to choose between two routes. The first consisted of a journey of no more than 12 kilometers that ran through the streets of the historic town of The Farm of San Ildefonso and its wooded surroundings. A second route shared the part of the Farm and extended to the ravine that connects this town with Segovia, and then returned, through rural roads, to our place of departure and base of the weekend, Torrecaballeros. In total, about 32 kilometers.

After finishing exhausted after Saturday's beating, I had promised myself that I would not suffer like this again on Sunday. However, my muscles seemed recovered after the night's rest and it was a spectacular day that instilled encouragement to anyone. So, right in the last second, I decided to be a drag for the group of accomplished cyclists and enjoy the long route. In the end it was shown that it was the best decision.

The Farm of San Ildefonso It is a small municipality of no more than 6000 inhabitants that, however, has a great monumental heritage. Although its most emblematic building is the Royal Palace, they are also worth visiting the cobbled streets of its historic center and the Royal Glass Factory built in the 18th century.

This area of ​​the Guadarrama mountain range It was very important for hunting since the time of the Trastémere dynasty. The Castilian kings built a small palace in the nearby town of Valsain, but it would not be until the time of the Duke of Anjou (Felipe V) when the works of the palace that we can admire today begin. It was the year 1721 and the chosen design was totally inspired by the elements of the French court in Versailles.

The result is a beautiful and lavish palace surrounded by gardens of impeccable order and tremendous beauty.

But since not only man lives monumental architecture, we pedal along the bike lane belt that surrounds La Granja and, shortly, we find ourselves surrounded by a beautiful forest whose trees ran a river dotted by beautiful stone bridges.

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Voyage

Cyclotourisme à Ségovie: le palais royal de la Granja et l'aqueduc d'un coup

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Prairies ségoviennes

Après un premier jour de cyclotourisme Dans lequel mes jambes ont beaucoup souffert en traînant le vélo à travers de magnifiques champs et canyons segovianas, j’ai fait face à une décision importante aux premières heures du dimanche matin.

Encore aujourd'hui, les amis de BikefriendlyIls nous ont offert la possibilité de choisir entre deux itinéraires. Le premier consistait en un voyage de 12 kilomètres maximum, qui parcourait les rues de la ville historique de La ferme de San Ildefonso et ses environs boisés. Un deuxième itinéraire partageait la partie de la ferme et s'étendait jusqu'au ravin qui relie cette ville à Ségovie, puis retournait, par des routes rurales, à notre lieu de départ et de base du week-end, Torrecaballeros. Au total, environ 32 kilomètres.

Après avoir fini épuisé après le passage à tabac de samedi, je m'étais promis de ne plus souffrir de la sorte dimanche. Cependant, mes muscles semblaient recouvrés après le repos de la nuit et ce fut une journée spectaculaire qui encouragea tout le monde. Donc, juste dans la dernière seconde, J'ai décidé d'être un frein pour le groupe de cyclistes accomplis et de profiter du long parcours. Finalement, il a été démontré que c'était la meilleure décision.

La ferme de San Ildefonso C'est une petite commune de 6000 habitants à peine, dotée d'un grand patrimoine monumental. Bien que son édifice le plus emblématique soit le palais royal, il vaut également la peine de visiter les rues pavées de son centre historique et la verrerie royale construite au XVIIIe siècle.

Cette zone de la Chaîne de montagnes de Guadarrama C'était très important pour la chasse depuis l'époque de la dynastie Trastémere. Les rois castillans ont construit un petit palais dans la ville voisine de Valsain, mais ce ne sera que lorsque le duc d’Anjou (Felipe V) commencera les travaux du palais que nous pouvons admirer aujourd’hui. C'était en 1721 et le design choisi était totalement inspiré par les éléments de la cour française à Versailles.

Le résultat est un palais magnifique et somptueux entouré de jardins d'un ordre impeccable et d'une grande beauté.

Mais comme l’homme ne vit pas seulement l’architecture monumentale, nous pédalons le long de la ceinture de pistes cyclables qui entoure La Granja et, bientôt, nous sommes entourés d’un magnifique Forêt dont les arbres couraient une rivière parsemée de beaux ponts de pierre.

Pin
Send
Share
Send