Travels

Living the Brazilian Diamantine Chapada

Pin
Send
Share
Send


The Diamond Plated It is a region of mountains located in the center of the Brazilian state of Bay. Its 38,000 square kilometers of surface contain limestone rock mountains, forests, rivers, waterfalls, caves and a varied fauna that includes a large number of bird species.

His name is due to the fever of diamond seekers who came to these lands from all corners of the country. Placed in the channels of the different rivers that cross the Chapada, they hoped to solve their lives by finding a great diamond. This is how populations like Lençois, the main town of Chapada Diamantina, were born.

Arriving in Lençois

Lençois

Having not seen photos or read too much about the place, when the bus of the Federal Rapid company left me at the town stop (from Salvador of Bahia), I was surprised with what I found.

Lençois is a small, beautiful, pleasant and colonial-looking town. Its cobbled streets are full of travel agencies - they sell all kinds of tours in the Chapada Diamantina -, restaurants, small shops and beautiful houses with colorful doors and windows.

The atmosphere is relaxed, with a hippy atmosphere, aided by live music and the different traders who walk through the town selling their crafts.

In Lençois one never knows what day he lives on. It is always party.

I arrived on a Sunday night and the terraces of the restaurants that occupy the two main streets of the town were overflowing. People dined, drank caipirinhas and chatted animatedly, dressed in their shorts, short-sleeved shirts and the ubiquitous havaianas (Brazilian flip flops that have expanded worldwide and so many backpackers use in tropical destinations).

I felt a stranger, dressed in my long trekking pants, a T-shirt and hiking shoes. Also, I was carrying my 60 liter backpack.

Accommodation in Lençois and Michael's discovery

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Voyage

Vivre la chapada brésilienne Diamantine

Pin
Send
Share
Send


La Plaqué Diamant C’est une région de montagnes située au centre de l’état brésilien de Bay. Ses 38 000 kilomètres carrés de surface contiennent des montagnes de roche calcaire, des forêts, des rivières, des cascades, des grottes et une faune variée comprenant un grand nombre d'espèces d'oiseaux.

Son nom est dû à la fièvre de les chercheurs de diamants qui sont venus sur ces terres de tous les coins du pays. Situés dans les canaux des différentes rivières qui traversent la Chapada, ils espéraient résoudre leur vie en trouvant un grand diamant. C’est ainsi que sont nées des populations comme Lençois, chef-lieu de la Chapada Diamantina.

Arriver à Lençois

Lençois

N'ayant pas vu de photos ni lu trop de choses sur le lieu, quand le bus de la société Federal Fast m'a laissé à l'arrêt de la ville (de Salvador de Bahia), J'ai été surpris par ce que j'ai trouvé.

Lençois est une petite ville belle, agréable et d'apparence coloniale. Ses rues pavées sont pleines d'agences de voyages - elles vendent toutes sortes de visites dans la Chapada Diamantina -, des restaurants, des petites boutiques et de belles maisons aux portes et fenêtres colorées.

L'atmosphère est détendue, avec une atmosphère hippie, aidée par la musique live et les différents commerçants qui se promènent dans la ville pour vendre leur artisanat.

À Lençois, on ne sait jamais quel jour il vit. C'est toujours la fête.

Je suis arrivé un dimanche soir et les terrasses des restaurants qui occupent les deux rues principales de la ville débordaient. Les gens dînaient, buvaient des caipirinhas et discutaient avec animation, vêtus de leurs shorts, de leurs chemises à manches courtes et de leurs omniprésents. havaianas (Tongs brésiliennes qui se sont étendues dans le monde entier et que beaucoup de routards utilisent dans les destinations tropicales).

Je me suis senti étranger, vêtu de mon long pantalon de trekking, de mon tee-shirt et de mes chaussures de randonnée. De plus, je portais mon sac à dos de 60 litres.

Hébergement à Lençois et à la découverte de Michael

Pin
Send
Share
Send