Travels

The cliffs of Los Gigantes in Tenerife

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Los Gigantes port

Before the Castilians arrived at the Tenerife Island, the Guanches lived pleasantly in a climate and a land of enviable fertility. Their known world did not go far beyond the other islands they could see from their own. If for the Spanish navigators the mystery of the roundness of the Earth was no longer such, for the first inhabitants of Tenerife the World ended at the west end of the island, where there was an impassable rock wall. It was about what is known today as cliffs of Los Gigantes.

This basaltic wall of volcanic origin, which It extends from the port of Los Gigantes to Punta de Teno, measures between 300 and 600 meters and is buried in the water at no more than 30 meters deep. It is practically impregnable and only some ravines, difficult to reach by land, cut it at some points, creating small coves of sand or gravel that people usually approach by sea with pleasure boats.

These same boats and boats are used to explore the seabed. This area of ​​the island is very famous among divers and deep sea fishermen for the richness of life that can be found under the surface of the ocean. A colony of pilot whales He lives here throughout the year, and large turtles and dolphins act as usual parades. A delight for divers.

Approaching with the boat to the cliffs

Stunning close-up views

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Voyage

Les falaises de Los Gigantes à Tenerife

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Port de Los Gigantes

Avant que les Castillans soient arrivés à la Île de Tenerife, les Guanches vivaient agréablement dans un climat et une terre de fertilité enviable. Leur monde connu n’allait pas bien au-delà des autres îles qu’ils pouvaient voir de leurs propres yeux. Si pour les navigateurs espagnols le mystère de la rondeur de la Terre ne l’était plus, pour les premiers habitants de Tenerife Le monde s'est terminé à l'extrémité ouest de l'île, où il y avait une paroi rocheuse infranchissable. C'était à propos de ce qu'on appelle aujourd'hui falaises de Los Gigantes.

Cette paroi basaltique d’origine volcanique, qui Il s'étend du port de Los Gigantes à Punta de Teno, mesure entre 300 et 600 mètres et est enfoui dans l'eau à une profondeur maximale de 30 mètres.. Il est pratiquement imprenable et seuls quelques ravins, difficiles d'accès par voie de terre, le coupent à certains endroits, créant ainsi de petites criques de sable ou de gravier que les gens abordent habituellement par mer avec des bateaux de plaisance.

Ces mêmes bateaux et bateaux sont utilisés pour explorer les fonds marins. Cette zone de l'île est très célèbre parmi les plongeurs et les pêcheurs en haute mer pour la richesse de la vie qui se trouve sous la surface de l'océan. Une colonie de globicéphales Il vit ici toute l'année et les grandes tortues et dauphins jouent le rôle de défilés habituels. Un délice pour les plongeurs.

S'approcher avec le bateau aux falaises

Superbes vues rapprochées

Pin
Send
Share
Send