Travels

China Litang: The Far West of China

The dead man is undressed in his white clothes and all those who witness the funeral bathe with incense. The Tonden sharpens its long dagger against a stone while reciting mandras and cutting the flesh of the body into large pieces. The bones and brain are crushed and mixed with flour.

The smell of meat and incense attracts a large number of vultures that circle around the funeral. The Tomden departs a few meters and the gigantic birds pounce on a frantic feast, devouring every little part of the body and taking it to the sky, witnessed all by the family of the dead from a nearby hill.

This is the celestial funeral, a funeral of ancestral Buddhist-Tibetan tradition. While it may seem crazy to Western sensibility, in this part of the world it makes sense both spiritually and practically. According to the Buddhist creed, the body is a mere vehicle for transporting life; Once the body dies, the spirit leaves the body and it is no longer necessary. Giving the body of food to the vultures is a final act of generosity to the world of the living and provides a link with the cycle of life.

Voyage

Chine Litang: Le Far West de la Chine

Le défunt est déshabillé dans ses vêtements blancs et tous ceux qui assistent à l'enterrement se baignent d'encens. Le Tonden aiguise son long poignard contre une pierre tout en récitant des mandras et en découpant la chair du corps en gros morceaux. Les os et le cerveau sont écrasés et mélangés à de la farine.

L'odeur de la viande et de l'encens attire un grand nombre de vautours qui entourent l'enterrement. Le Tomden part quelques mètres et les oiseaux gigantesques se jettent sur un festin frénétique, dévorant chaque petite partie du corps et l'emportant au ciel, sous le regard de la famille des morts depuis une colline proche.

C'est l'enterrement céleste, un enterrement de la tradition ancestrale bouddhiste-tibétaine. Bien que cela puisse paraître fou à la sensibilité occidentale, dans cette partie du monde, cela a un sens spirituel et pratique. Selon la croyance bouddhiste, le corps est un simple véhicule pour transporter la vie; Une fois que le corps meurt, l'esprit quitte le corps et ce n'est plus nécessaire. Donner le corps de nourriture aux vautours est un dernier acte de générosité envers le monde des vivants et constitue un lien avec le cycle de la vie.

Vidéo: DJI - Garze, West Sichuan, China (Décembre 2019).